A Quick Book Review (and some shameless self-promotion)

I’m going to take a break from ranting about gender issues to share some exciting personal news: I’ve participated in an essay project that got me published for realsies, in an actual book that you can buy and hold in your hand.  I’m more than a little excited, and also a bit intimidated, since some of the figures in the men’s movement that I greatly admire are co-contributors to this book (notice me, senpai!).  The book is called Daughters of Feminism, and for what it’s worth, I’m credited under the name Elizabeth Jack (non-coincidentally related to the name Jackalope).

612rMSmVjaL

You can get yourself a copy here.

Shackleton (whom I’ve been corresponding with lately for another project) compiled essays written by women about their personal reasons for supporting gender egalitarianism rather than ideological feminism, intended as a sister publication to Janice Fiamengo’s Sons of Feminism, where men describe their experiences with discrimination and other men’s issues in the context of a feminist world.

I knew I was going to eat this up regardless of its content, because I’m in it and only human, but please don’t take my ringing endorsement with a grain of salt.  There are some really fabulous, engaging, insightful essays in this book.  It opens with a transcript of one of my very favourite talks, given by Cassie Jaye on the subject of motivated reasoning and ideological tribalism (if you don’t wind up reading Daughters of Feminism, please watch this talk — it’s magnificent), and ends with an insightful critique of the feminist movement written by Fiamengo.  The authors run the ideological gamut, from gender liberals like me who just want a more balanced approach to the progressive discourse, to hard-line traditionalists, and everything in between.  Some women explain why they were never sold on the feminist narrative, while others detail long and often painful personal journeys from feminism to gender balanced or men’s rights activism.  Some focus on the reasons they feel our current paradigm harms and demeans women, others list their personal experiences with men and men’s issues.  One woman provides a fascinating analogy between the progression of a romantic relationship, with all its excitement, lulls, and opportunities for toxicity, to the trajectory of the relationship between men and women as groups in the West.  There is something here for everyone.

Of course, I don’t agree with all of my co-contributors.  Some of their life philosophies and conclusions are polar opposite to mine.  But I love this because it demonstrates that one can come to an egalitarian perspective from any direction.  Regardless of your personal ideology, all it takes is compassion and an open mind to agree to the shared goal of gender equality.

It’s worth a read.  Go get yourself a copy!

Leave a comment

Filed under activism, antifeminism, equality, feminism, men's rights, misandry, personal, Uncategorized

Leave a comment